

OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION

MEETING MINUTES - FINAL

February 25, 2021 6:30 PM

I. Call to Order

Chair Regina Jackson

The meeting began at 6:30 pm.

II. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Chair Regina Jackson

Commissioners Present: José Dorado, Henry Gage, III, Sergio Garcia, Brenda Harbin-Forte, Regina Jackson, and Tyfahra Singleton. Quorum was met.

Alternate Commissioners Present: David Jordan and Marsha Peterson

Chair Jackson promoted Marsha Peterson to be a voting member for this meeting.

Counsel for this meeting: Conor Kennedy

III. Welcome, Purpose, and Open Forum

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Jennifer Tu

Kevin Cantu

Michele Lazaneo

Megan Steffen

Assata Olugbala

Saleem Bey

Reisa Jaffe

IV. Update from Police Chief

OPD Chief Armstrong provided an update on the Department including OPD use of overtime with City businesses.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Jennifer Tu

Megan Steffen

Lorelei Bosserman

Saleem Bey

Assata Olugbala

Jasmine Fallstich

Cathy Leonard

Reisa Jaffe

Tasha Mente

No action was taken on this item.

V. Public Safety Officers' Procedural Bill of Rights Training

CPRA Executive Director John Alden delivered training to the Commission on the Public Safety Officers' Procedural Bill of Rights.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Assata Olugbala Rashidah Grinage Cathy Leonard

No action was taken on this item.

VI. Rules of Procedure Policy

The Commission reviewed and voted to approve a new Rules of Procedure.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Megan Steffen
Kevin Cantu
Lorelei Bosserman
Joseph Mente
Anne Janks
Jennifer Tu
Assata Olugbala

A motion was made by Regina Jackson, seconded by Marsha Peterson, to approve the Amended Rules of Order with the exception of the changes to Open Forum. The motion failed to carry by the following vote:

Aye: Jackson and Peterson

No: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, and Singleton

A second motion was made by Sergio Garcia, seconded by Brenda Harbin-Forte, that the Ad Hoc Rules Committee's rules recommendations be approved as is. The motion failed to carry by the following vote:

Aye: Gage, Garcia, and Harbin-Forte

No: Dorado, Jackson, Peterson, and Singleton

A third motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Tyfahra Singleton, to accept the recommendations by the Ad Hoc Rules Committee with the addition of amending Rule 6.1 to provide for Open Forum at the beginning of meetings for a maximum of 15 minutes with two minutes per speaker, with any remaining speakers given time in an additional Open Forum towards the end of the meetings. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Peterson, and Singleton

No: 0

VII. Action Plan from Commission Retreat

The Commission reviewed and discussed an Action Plan which was developed from the retreat on January 30, 2021.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Lorelei Bosserman Kevin Cantu Joseph Mente Anne Janks

Jennifer Tu

A motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Tyfahra Singleton, to accept the Action Plan as written. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Peterson, and Singleton

No: 0

A motion was made by Marsha Peterson, seconded by José Dorado, to extend the meeting one hour. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Peterson, and Singleton

No: 0

VIII. Report on and Review of CPRA Pending Cases, Completed Investigations, Staffing, and Recent Activities

Executive Director John Alden reported on the Agency's pending cases, completed investigations, staffing, and recent activities.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Joseph Mente Assata Olugbala

No action was taken on this item.

IX. Meeting Minutes Approval

The Commission voted to approve minutes from February 11, 2021.

No public comments were provided on this item.

A motion was made by Sergio Garcia, seconded by José Dorado, to approve the minutes from February 11, 2021 with the following edit: correct the spelling of Alternate Commissioner Peterson's first name in item II by changing "Marcia" to "Marsha." The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Peterson, and Singleton

2.25.21 Minutes Page 3

X. Committee Reports

Representatives from Standing and Ad Hoc Committees provided updates on their work. **Outreach** – is looking for a third member and has met over the phone and discussed community engagement for ad hoc committees; **Community Policing OPD 15-01** – will be doing community outreach.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Megan Steffen Speaker did not identify themselves Assata Olugbala Rashidah Grinage

No action was taken on this item.

XI. Agenda Setting and Prioritization of Upcoming Agenda Items

The Commission engaged in a working session to discuss and determine agenda items for the upcoming meeting: an update on the Reimagining Public Safety Task Force.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Assata Olugbala Jennifer Tu

No action was taken on this item.

XII. Adjournment

A motion was made by José Dorado, seconded by Marsha Peterson, to adjourn the meeting at 11:00 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Dorado, Gage, Garcia, Harbin-Forte, Jackson, Peterson, and Singleton

No: 0