

OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES - FINAL April 9, 2020 5:30 PM

I. Call to Order Chair Regina Jackson

The meeting started at 5:36 pm.

II. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

Chair Regina Jackson

Commissioners Present: Tara Anderson, Henry Gage, III, Ginale Harris, Regina Jackson, Edwin Prather, and Thomas Lloyd Smith. Quorum was met.

Alternate Commissioners Present: Chris Brown and David Jordan (arrived during item IV)

Commissioners Excused: José Dorado

Counsel for this meeting: Conor Kennedy and Nitasha Sawhney

III. Public Comment on Closed Session Items

No public comments were provided on this item.

The Commission adjourned to closed session. The open session section of the meeting commenced at 6:31 pm.

IV. Closed Session CONFERENCE WITH LEGAL COUNSEL— ANTICIPATED LITIGATION: 1 CASE - Govt. Code § 54956.9(d)(2)

Report out of Closed Session CONFERENCE WITH LEGAL COUNSEL— ANTICIPATED LITIGATION: 1 CASE - Govt. Code § 54956.9(d)(2)

There were no reportable actions on this item.

VI. Welcome, Purpose, and Open Forum/Public Comment Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Maureen Benson

VII. Report from the Chair

Regina Jackson delivered a report on the current state of affairs amidst the COVID-19 healthy emergency.

No public comments were provided on this item.

No action was taken on this item.

VIII. Update on City Auditor's Commission and CPRA Audits

The Commission provided an update on the status of the Police Commission and CPRA audits that are being conducted by the City Auditor's office.

No public comments were provided on this item.

No action was taken on this item.

IX. Committee Reports (this item was tabled to a future agenda)

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: John Lindsay-Poland Anne Janks Bruce Schmiechen Lorelei Bosserman

A motion was made by Ginale Harris, seconded by Tara Anderson, to table this item to a future agenda. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith No: 0 Abstain: Gage

X. Police Commission Annual Report

The Commission discussed the annual report that will be submitted to the Mayor, City Council, and the public, and voted to approve the report with additions.

No public comments were provided on this item.

A motion was made by Tara Anderson, seconded by Thomas Lloyd Smith, to adopt the report with the following additions: a list of Commissioners who joined the Commission in 2019, confirmation of term ending dates for Commissioners, and a section on Community Outreach. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Gage, Jackson, Prather, and Smith No: 0 Abstain: Harris

XI. Strategic Communications Proposal

The Commission reviewed a proposal from Max Szabo of Szabo & Associates and considered whether to proceed with a solicitation process.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: Maureen Benson John Lindsay-Poland

A motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Thomas Lloyd Smith, to table this item to a future agenda and create an Ad Hoc Committee to do more research on the need for services. Tara Anderson recused herself from voting and left the meeting as she has previously worked with Max Szabo. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith No: 0 Recused: Anderson

XII. Meeting Minutes Approval

The Commission voted to approve minutes from March 12, 2020.

No public comments were provided on this item.

A motion was made by Henry Gage, III, seconded by Edwin Prather, to approve the March 12, 2020 minutes. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Gage, Jackson, Prather, and Smith No: 0 Abstain: Harris

XIII. Agenda Setting and Prioritization of Upcoming Agenda Items

The Commission engaged in a working session to discuss and determine agenda items for the upcoming Commission meeting: introduction of OPD Interim Chief; update on Commission and CPRA audits; formation of a discipline committee; Bey case subpoenas; CPRA report; update on Commission and CPRA budgets; and a draft Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) between OPD and National Institute for Criminal Justice Reform (NICJR).

Comments were provided by the following public speakers: John Lindsay-Poland

No action was taken on this item.

XIV. Adjournment

A motion was made by Edwin Prather, seconded by Tara Anderson, to adjourn the meeting at 8:11 pm. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: Anderson, Gage, Harris, Jackson, Prather, and Smith No: 0