

## CITY OF OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION SELECTION PANEL

## **Meeting Minutes**

### Thursday, May 10, 2018 5:30 PM – 7:30 PM City Hall, 1 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza, Hearing Room #1 Oakland, CA 94612

Selection Panel Members: Chairperson Sarah Chavez-Yoell (District 3), Second Chairperson John Jones III (At Large), Tal Klement (District 1), James Chanin (District 2), Shikira Porter (District 4), Mary Vail (District 5), Candice Jessie (District 6), Jean Blacksher (District 7), Arnold X. C. Perkins (Mayor)

## 1. Roll Call and Determination of Quorum

The meeting started at 5:36 pm.

Selection Panel members present: Jean Blacksher, Jim Chanin (5:45 pm arrival), Sarah Chavez-Yoell, Candice Jessie, John Jones III, Tal Klement, Arnold Perkins, and Mary Vail.

Absent: Shikira Porter

Staff present: Stephanie Hom

City Attorney Staff: Allison Dibley

# 2. Open Forum

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Bruce Schmiechen Rashida Grinage Mariano Contreras

# ACTION ITEMS

## 3. Approval of Selection Panel Meeting Draft Minutes

• November 1, 2017 Meeting

Motion to approve the meeting minutes for November 1, 2017 was moved (M. Vail) and seconded (A. Perkins).

Motion passed with 7 ayes. Absent: J. Chanin and S. Porter.

[J. Chanin joined the meeting at 5:45 pm.]

#### CITY OF OAKLAND POLICE COMMISSION SELECTION PANEL

#### Meeting Minutes (Continued)

#### Thursday, May 10, 2018 5:30 PM – 7:30 PM City Hall, 1 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza, Hearing Room #1 Oakland, CA 94612

#### 4. Determining Selection Panel Chairperson / Vice Chairperson

Selection Panel determined Chairperson and Vice Chairperson for Selection Panel for the upcoming year.

Motion to re-appoint Sarah Chavez-Yoell as Chair and John Jones III as Vice Chair was moved (A. Perkins) and seconded (J. Blacksher).

Motion passed with 8 ayes. Absent: S. Porter.

# **5. Debrief on Selection Panel Process & Determine Future Process** Selection Panel discussed the process completed in selecting the first slate of Police Commissioners.

Comments were provided by the following public speakers:

Mariano Contreras Rashida Grinage

Motion to establish an Ad Hoc Committee comprised of three members to review the selection process and make recommendations to the full Selection Panel was moved (M. Vail) and seconded (C. Jessie).

Motion passed with 8 ayes. Absent: S. Porter.

Determination of who will sit on the Ad Hoc Committee will be determined at the next meeting, scheduled for May 23, 2018 (Wednesday) at 5:30 pm.

#### **Open Forum**

There were no comments from the public.

The meeting was adjourned at 6:35 pm