Economic Recovery Advisory Council Roster

The initial convening of the Advisory Council brought together a group of 40-50 affiliates representing different sectors, business perspectives and geographies.

Posted: May 19th, 2020 12:23 PM

Last Updated: January 20th, 2021 7:50 PM

Convening Team


Mayor Libby Schaaf

Vice Mayor Larry Reid

In Partnership With

Michael McAfee, PolicyLink

Jose Corona, Eat. Learn. Play.

Barbara Leslie, Metropolitan Chamber of Commerce

Research Support

Prof. Darcelle Lahr, Mills College, Center for Transformative Action

Jeff Bellisario, Bay Area Council Economic Institute

City Staff

City Administrator – Betsy Lake

Director, EWDD – Alexa Jeffress

Mayor’s office – Kelley Kahn, EWD, Mayoral Liaison

Deputy Director, EWDD – Micah Hinkle

Workforce Development Board, Interim Executive Director – Lazandra Dial

EWDD Project Lead – Marisa Raya

EWDD Project Support – Brandon Wolinsky

Director, Race and Equity – Darlene Flynn

Director, Planning and Building – Bill Gilchrist

Director, Department of Transportation – Ryan Russo

Chief Resilience Officer – Alex McBride

Assistant to the City Administrator – Greg Minor


Susan Muranishi, Alameda County

Julina Bonilla, Port of Oakland

Egon Terplan, California Governor’s Office

Savlan Hauser, Oakland BID Alliance

Liz Ortega, Alameda County Labor Council

David Jackson, Evolve (formerly Oakland Impact Hub)

Chris Iglesias, Unity Council

Carolyn (CJ) Johnson, Black Cultural Zone

Derreck Johnson, Home of Chicken and Waffles

Yvette Radford, Kaiser

Jay Banfield, All Home

Shonda Scott, African American Chamber of Commerce

Dr. Jennifer Tran, Vietnamese Chamber of Commerce

Jessica Chen, Chinatown Chamber of Commerce

Joe Partida, Latino Chamber

Ari Takata-Vasquez, Oakland Indie Alliance

Chris Pastena, Chop Bar, Tribune Tavern, Calavera

Mark Everton, Visit Oakland

Andreas Cluver, Alameda County Building Trades

John Brauer, California Labor Federation

Saru Jayaraman, One Fair Wage

Debra Gore-Mann, Greenlining

Prof. Kellie McElhaney, UC Berkeley, Center for Equity, Gender, and Leadership

Kate O’Hara, EBASE

Josh Simon, EBALDC

Amber Curley, Native American Health Center/ Indigenous Red Market

Claudia Arroyo, Prospera

Kat Taylor, Beneficial Bank

Robert Ogilvie, SPUR

Robin Raveneau, Oakland Private Industry Council (OPIC)

Lea Redmond, Oeste

Angela Tsay, Oaklandish

Oakland Business Representatives

Real Estate Development – Regina Davis, SUDA

Nail Salons/ Beauty – Ke Norman, Nailphoria Day Spa

Manufacturing –Lynn Vera, Rainin

Makers – Atticus Wolf, Moxy

Co-working/ Workspace - Trevor Parham, Oakstop

Large Employer- Patrick Hayes, Clorox

Security - Greg Feldman, Allied Universal

Small Business - Linda Grant, Restaurant Pop-up and Cannabis Entrepreneur

Transportation and Logistics –Jason Dreisbach, Dreisbach Enterprises

Visual Arts - Jean Marie Durant, Oakland Art Murmur

Performing Arts/ Entertainment - Archie Nagraj, Destiny Arts Center

Sports – Lydia Tan, Oakland A’s

Tech/ Fintech –Ahmed Ali Bob, Square

Regional Economy - Stephen Baiter, East Bay Economic Development Alliance

Healthcare – Jim Macksood, Sutter Health

Bar/ Restaurants –Maria Alderete, Luka’s Tap Room

Local Groceries – Ali Obad, ShopRite

Cultural Arts - Dr. Mieko Hatano, Oakland Symphony

Barbers & Hairstylists - Yusef Wright, Benny Adem Grooming Parlor